Simple Tomato Salad

I’ve been trying to soak up the last little bits of summer, so I’ve been seeking out some of that classic summer produce. I managed to pick up the cutest selection of baby tomatoes – not really cherry, or grape… a whole mix of shapes and sizes. So I did what I do with the season’s best tomatoes – I eat them raw in a simple tomato salad. This is a basic recipe that is so versatile – as a side to a meat dish, tossed into hot pasta, tucked into a sandwich, or just by itself.

Start out with some fresh tomatoes – they have to be the tomatoes that actually taste good, not the watery ones, if you know what I mean!

Give them a wash then stem and slice them up. If they’re tiny ones, like mine, still slice them in half so that they can soak up the dressing. If they’re bigger, cut them into 6 or 8 pieces so that they fit easily on a fork.

My basil plant is trying to take over the world, so I can’t resist posting a picture. The funny thing is that I seem to kill every plant except basil – maybe it just knows that I LOVE IT.

Or maybe it’s trying to escape, knowing that I’ll eat it? Anyway, I picked about 6 leaves and chopped them up finely. I also put a clove of garlic through the garlic press, and gave it a good grind of salt and pepper.

For the dressing – I always wing it! I still stick to a classic 3:1 ratio, though. I usually drizzle olive oil for 3 loops around the bowl, and balsamic for 1 loop. Stir it up and give it a taste – sometimes you’ll have to adjust because tomatoes tend to vary in acidity.

Again, this recipe is awesomely simple and versatile. Try stirring in some pearl-sized bocconcini, or have it like I did – on baguette with goat cheese as a light lunch, mmm!

3 thoughts on “Simple Tomato Salad

  1. Pingback: Mushroom Phyllo Rolls | em eats

Leave a Reply

